Jan Miskulin and Nancy Haley viewing WASH history at the WASH 40th Anniversary Celebration.
Jan Miskulin and Nancy Haley viewing WASH history at the WASH 40th Anniversary Celebration.

Watercolor Artists of Sacramento Horizons (WASH) is the first and only group of artists devoted entirely to the watercolor medium in Sacramento. In 1978 Jan Miskulin and Nancy Haley discussed the need for a watercolor society. Jan’s watercolor class enthusiastically endorsed the idea. The group formed and met at the President James Monroe Manor and Jan Miskulin was elected as the first President. The initials, W.A.S.H. were decided upon as being an appropriate name for a watercolor society. The first three were easy to realize, Watercolor Artists of Sacramento, but the letter “H” presented a problem until Jan’s mother, Olive Schmid, suggested “Horizons” and thus the name was born.

Absent a home for exhibitions, work was displayed at various locations within the community such as Fidelity Savings, Home Savings, the John E. Moss building, and Crocker Bank. A Board Membership Exhibit was held at the Mills Gallery. These first shows were for members only and all participated. The first membership show was judged by Larry Weldon. In 1987, WASH was invited to become a member of the Sacramento Fine Arts Center by Marjorie Long, a genuine supporter of the arts and a Past President of WASH.

Please click on the link to view a list of our charter members: Charter Members

WASH Board Members

  • President – Ralph Wilson
  • Program – William Lum and Diane Tharp
  • Membership – Arleen Schaller
  • Show Committee – AlysLynn Lemke, Carole Girard, Wyleta McDaniel, Charles Green, and Peter Rodgers
  • Secretary – Helen Lewis
  • Treasurer – Edward Bostley
  • Newsletter – Thomas Adams
  • Workshop – Sue Davis, Kari Bauer, and Joanie Tarver
  • Past-President(s) – Gail Jones and Jo Kopp
  • SFAC Liaison – Nancy Wedick

Appointed Positions:

  • Hospitality – Barbara Little and Cindy Spita
  • Scholarship – Sandra Mele
  • Webmaster – Gail Jones and Gary Mele
  • Social Media (Facebook, mailChimp) – Helen Plenert
  • Painting of the Month – Nora Staklis
  • Photographer – Barbara Schneider

WASH Past Presidents

Year       President
1978       Jan Miskulin
1979       Jan Miskulin
1980       Nancy Haley
1981       Faye Billings
1982       Ed Haas
1983       Ellen Coppock
1984       Mildred Franklin
1985       Marge Long
1986       Don Pagano
1987       Susan Martin
1988       Roberta Tootle
1989       Roberta Tootle
1990       Mae Delle Leino
1991       Yvonne Bonacci
1992       Bob MacDonald
1993       Betty Sokolich
1994       Betty Sokolich
1995       Dorothy Steed
1996       Dorothy Steed
1997       Michael Zielenski
1998       Michael Zielenski
1999       Richard Meagher
2000       Bob Miller
2001       Bob Miller
2002       Dick Beymer
2003       Dick Beymer
2004       Donna Naes
2005       Patricia Shannon
2006       Patricia Shannon
2007       David Peterson
2008       David Peterson
2009       David Peterson
2010       Phyllis Eymann
2011       Phyllis Eymann
2012       Phyllis Eymann
2013       Patty Larsen
2014       Patty Larsen
2015       Patty Larsen
2016       Rebecca Jaggers and Diane Tharp
2017       Gail Jones and Jo Kopp
2018       Gail Jones and Jo Kopp